Published on:

U.S. Commerce Secretary Accused of Hit-And-Run in San Gabriel Valley :: Whittel & Melton

U.S. Commerce Secretary John Bryson was found unconscious in his Lexus after allegedly hitting two vehicles shortly after 5 p.m. Saturday in San Gabriel Valley.

An agency official confirmed Secretary Bryson suffered a seizure. He was given medication, but it is unknown what kind of treatment he received or where it was given.

The 68-year-old was cited for felony hit-and-run, but was not booked and taken to the hospital where he remained overnight.

Sources said Bryson was unaccompanied by security during the crashes because he was driving his own vehicle on personal time.

Bryson allegedly voluntarily submitted to a Breathalyzer test following the accident, but it did not detect any alcohol.

Los Angeles authorities apparently took a blood test and are awaiting the results before deciding whether or not to file charges in connection with the accidents.

Whether or not the collisions were due to a medical condition is part of the investigation, which is ongoing.

Authorities claim Bryson was driving a Lexus Saturday just after 5 p.m. when he allegedly rear-ended a Buick that was waiting for a train to pass.

Bryson apparently got out of his vehicle to talk to the three occupants inside the Buick, and then left the scene and struck the Buick a second time, authorities said. According to a police report, the occupants in the Buick followed Bryson’s car and dialed 911 for assistance.

Bryson allegedly continued driving his Lexus and crashed into a second vehicle with two people inside.

When officers arrived at the scene, they apparently found Bryson alone and unconscious behind the wheel of his vehicle.

A Commerce official said Secretary Bryson was given medication to treat the seizure.

In Florida, leaving the scene of an accident, also known as hit-and-run, is a serious criminal offense that can be charged as a felony or misdemeanor depending on the specifics of the case. This crime is charged when a person involved in an accident flees the scene without providing the other party involved with their name, address, driver’s license and registration information. Additionally, if an accident you are involved in results in the death or injury of another person, you are obligated to stop and reasonably assist any injured parties by calling for medical care. Failing to render appropriate assistance after an accident you were involved in could lead to a felony conviction of leaving the scene of an accident.

If you leave the scene of an accident that causes only property damage, you could be facing second-degree misdemeanor charges carrying consequences of up to 60 days in jail and fines up to $500. Leaving the scene of an accident with a serious injury can result in third-degree felony charges punishable by up to 5 years in prison and fines up to $5,000. A hit-and-run causing death can lead to first-degree felony charges punishable by up to 30 years in prison and $10,000 in fines. Furthermore, if you are convicted of leaving the scene of an accident your driver’s license will be suspended or revoked and your insurance premiums will increase.

If you were charged with a hit-and-run, it is essential to consult with a Florida Criminal Traffic Defense Lawyer as soon as possible to make sure your rights are protected. At Whittel & Melton, we can help you present your side of the story, so that none of your statements to law enforcement can be misinterpreted and used against you in trial. Our experienced criminal traffic offense lawyers can work towards getting your charges reduced or dismissed entirely.


If you or someone you love was recently charged with leaving the scene of an accident, or any other criminal traffic offense in the state of Florida, contact the Florida Criminal Traffic Defense Lawyers at Whittel & Melton online or call 1-866-608-5LAW (5529).

Contact Information