Published on:

Tampa School Bus Driver Charged with Child Abuse after Incident on School Bus :: Whittel & Melton

54510_school_days.jpgTampa, FL – The Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office arrested a Tampa school bus driver after she allegedly pushed an 8-year-old girl off the bus causing her ankle to break.

The 41-year-old Hillsborough County bus driver was charged with aggravated child abuse.

Police claim she was driving special education students to a local elementary school
around 2 p.m. when the incident occurred.

The child apparently pushed and kicked the driver while waiting for her turn to get off the bus. When it came time for her to exit the bus, she apparently stood on the steps and stopped.

According to reports, the bus driver used her foot to kick the girl off the bus. The girl fell on the ground and broke her ankle.

Police and prosecutors take allegations of abuse against children quite seriously throughout the state of Florida. In fact, sometimes police officers get so carried away with their efforts to protect children that one false statement can lead to an innocent person being slapped with severe felony charges. If you have been accused of child abuse, it is crucial to seek legal assistance from a criminal defense lawyer right away. Child abuse cases are fueled by emotions and unless you take fast action to protect your legal rights and explore your defense options, you could be left to face the harsh penalties associated with a conviction.

Aggravated child abuse is a felony in Florida punishable by up to 30 years in state prison. While it may seem like there is overwhelming evidence stacked against you, it is important to be aware that there are many strategies that a criminal defense attorney can implement to help you obtain a positive outcome. Children can be easily influenced and sometimes an overactive imagination can result in false accusations. The Tampa Criminal Defense Attorneys at Whittel & Melton understand that any and all allegations regarding child abuse must be thoroughly investigated in order to mount the most effective defense for your unique situation. Whether you work closely with children or are a parent or relative accused of child abuse, we can help you understand your rights and legal options.


After you have been arrested or charged with child abuse, it is in your best interest to not speak with anyone except your attorney about your case. While law enforcement officers, friends, relatives and social workers may seem helpful, anything you say to them will likely be used as evidence against you. If you or someone you love has been charged with aggravated child abuse in Hillsborough County or elsewhere in the state of Florida, contact the Florida Criminal Defense Attorneys at Whittel & Melton online or call our Tampa office at 813-221-3200. Reach us anytime statewide and toll-free by dialing 866-608-5529.

Contact Information