A 63-year-old Florida airboat captain who lost his hand to a 9-foot alligator in June was recently charged with unlawfully feeding that same gator.
According to reports, the man was attacked in the Everglades while leading a boat tour for an Indiana family.
The family claims the man was holding a fish with his hand at the water’s surface when the gator attacked.
Following an investigation conducted by Florida Fish and Wildlife officers into whether the man provoked the attack, police arrested the man July 27.
The man was jailed and released after posting a $1,000 bond. He is scheduled to appear in court on Aug. 22.
Unfortunately, the man’s hand is gone forever. It was recovered from the stomach of the gator, but doctors were not able to reattach it.
While alligators are abundant in Florida, it is uncommon to here of attacks by these animals. However, anytime humans are in the presence of gators, things can get dangerous. Alligators are large, powerful, sometimes ill-tempered reptiles that have lots of sharp teeth and strong jaws. Alligator bites have the potential to deliver devastating injuries and can even result in death. These bites can result in severe infections and the loss of limbs, so alligators should never be provoked.
Feeding an alligator is a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine. This man is not the only person that has been reprimanded by the law for allegedly provoking a gator recently. According to reports, from Jan. 2011 to May 2012, a total of six people were warned and 13 were cited in the state of Florida for feeding or luring an alligator. It seems that the State is looking to make an example out of this man, so it will be interesting to see how this case plays out.
After you have been charged with a misdemeanor offense in Florida, the Florida Criminal Defense Lawyers at Whittel & Melton can investigate the facts surrounding your case and look for ways to have the charges against you reduced or dropped. We work aggressively towards achieving a positive outcome for your case so that you can avoid maximum penalties.
If you have been charged with a misdemeanor offense anywhere in the state of Florida, contact the Florida Criminal Defense Lawyers at Whittel & Melton online or us statewide and toll-free at 1-866-608-5LAW (5529).